CAUSE	E NO.	
EX PARTE	§ § § §	IN THE JUSTICE COURT PRECINCT NO. 3
(Name of Petitioner)	§ §	CALDWELL COUNTY, TEXAS
(Ivanic of I continue)		
<u>PETITION F</u>	OR OCCUPA	ATIONAL LICENSE
I,	(Name	e of Petitioner), seek an occupational
license from this court based on	the information	on provided below. (You must swear that
the information you provide in the	is petition is tru	e and correct. Failure to provide true and
accurate information may result in	criminal penalti	es.)
Section 1. General Information	n.	
You must complete all applicable se	ections.	
My name is		·
My date of birth is:		·
I am a resident of		County, Texas.
My home address is:		
My Phone number is:		
My mailing address (if differ	rent than above	e) is:
My Texas driver's license nu	ımher is:	

Ц	I am employed, and my occupation is
	I am the primary caretaker of children less than 16 years of age.
	I have been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on
	my vehicle, and/or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an
	ignition interlock device.
	I have not been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device
	on my vehicle, and/or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with
	an ignition interlock device.
	I have a commercial driver's license.
	I do not have a commercial driver's license.
Section	on 2. Reason(s) for Driver's License Suspension.
You m	nust complete all applicable sections.
	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of an arrest for an
	intoxication-related offense in County,
	because:
	☐ A peace officer requested a sample of my breath or blood and I refused; or
	☐ I provided a sample of my breath or blood, and the sample contained an
	alcohol concentration greater than 0.08.
	My driver's license has been automatically suspended as the result of a
	conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in a County or District
	Court.

Ш	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for a
	criminal offense in a justice or municipal court. Please provide information
	regarding this offense, including the name of the court in which you were convicted, the
	cause number, and the type of offense, below.
	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a physical or mental
	disability.
	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for Racing
	on a Highway.
	My driver's license has been suspended because a court found that I am a
	"habitual violator of traffic laws."
	My driver's license has been suspended because a court ordered me to attend a
	Driver Education Program and suspended my license for 365 days.
	My driver's license has been suspended for another reason, described below:

Section 3. Essential Need.

You must complete all applicable sections.

(Note: In order to obtain an occupational license, you must demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor vehicle. The Texas Transportation Code defines "essential need" as the "need of a person for the operation of a motor vehicle: (A) in the performance of an occupation or trade or for transportation to and from the place at which the person practices the person's occupation or trade; (B) for transportation to and from an educational facility in which the person is enrolled; or (C) in the performance of essential household duties." In order to demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor vehicle, you may attach additional documentation, such as a letter from your employer. If you attach additional documentation, be sure to check the appropriate box in Section 5 of this petition.)

☐ I am seeking this occupational license in order to <i>(check all that apply)</i> :
☐ Travel to and from my place of work;
☐ Perform the duties of my job;
☐ Travel to and from school; or
☐ Perform essential household duties.
In the space below, provide an address and description for any destination you seek to trave
to using an occupational license.

In i	the space below, fully describe all public transportation options within one mile of any
desi	tination described above, including your home, place of work, school, or place where you
per	form essential household duties. Public transportation options may include bus service,
rail	service, rural automobile service, ride-sharing services, etc.
	I am the only member of my household who owns, leases, or has access to a
	motor vehicle.
	A member of my household other than me owns, leases, or has access to a
	motor vehicle. (Please describe this person's weekly schedule below.)
	I own a bicycle or other means of non-motorized conveyance, described
	below.

My work or school schedule is the same every week: I work or attend school
during the following hours on the following days of the week (check all that
apply):
☐ Monday: from to
☐ Tuesday: fromto
□ Wednesday: from to
☐ Thursday: from to
☐ Friday: from to
☐ Saturday: from to
□ Sunday: from to
My work or school schedule varies from week to week. (If you check this box,
provide a general description of your work or school schedule below, including the total
number of hours you work or attend school each week, days of the week on which you
never work or attend school, days of the week on which you always work or attend
school, and the earliest time your work or school day begins and the latest time your
work or school day ends.)

My job duties include automobil	le travel. My o	employer requires me to travel
by automobile to perform the foll	owing tasks:	
I perform the following essential	household duti	es:
In order to perform the essentia	al household d	uties described above, I must
travel by automobile during the	following hour	s on the following days of the
week (check all that apply):		
☐ Monday: from	to	
☐ Tuesday: from	to	
☐ Wednesday: from	to	
☐ Thursday: from	to	
☐ Friday: from	to	
☐ Saturday: from	to	
☐ Sunday: from	to	

☐ In order to:
☐ Travel to school;
☐ Travel to my place of work;
☐ Perform my job duties; or
☐ Travel to the place I perform essential household duties;
I must travel by automobile to or through the following Texas counties (please
fully describe all counties and routes traveled):
Section 4. Suspension History
You must complete all applicable sections.
My driver's license has previously been suspended for:
☐ A second or subsequent conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section
49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or
Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code), committed within five
years of a previous conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04,
Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or

In the past five years, my license has been suspended for:

Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code).

☐ A refusal to submit to the taking of a breath or blood specimen following an arrest for an offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or an offense prohibiting the operation of a watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance. ☐ An analysis of a breath or blood specimen showing an alcohol concentration of .08 or above, following an arrest for an offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated. ☐ A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code). ☐ A conviction for an offense other than Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code) prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance.

Section 5. Additional Documents.

You must complete all applicable sections.
☐ I have obtained evidence of financial responsibility, which is attached to my
petition. (Note: You may not be issued an occupational license unless you obtain
evidence of financial responsibility.)
☐ I have attached a certified copy of my driving record to this petition. (Note: the
court cannot grant your petition without reviewing your driving record.)
To order: www.texasonline.com Option/Type AR (Abstract Record) \$22.00
(must print) or Option 4. (Abstract Record) by mail \$20.00
☐ I have attached documents which demonstrate my essential need to operate a
motor vehicle. (Example: Letter from employer – work schedule / school schedule)
☐ I have been approved for filing by the District Attorney's office. (<i>located at</i>
713 S. Colorado St. Lockhart, TX 78644 – Caldwell County Justice Center)
☐ I have attached other documents, which are described below:

PRAYER

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Petitioner prays that this Honorable
Court grant this Petition for Occupational License, and to send a copy of its order
granting petitioner's occupational license to the Department of Public Safety of Texas.
Petitioner's Signature
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS DAY OF

Notary Public or Clerk of the Justice Court

FILING INFORMATION:

The responsibility for filling out your petition and civil case information sheet rests with you. Court clerks will assist you if you have procedural questions. The filing fee is \$51.00 (fifty-one dollars.) **Payment must be in the form of a Money Order or Cashier's Check, payable to Caldwell County Treasurer**

Effective 9/1/17

- (a) A person whose license has been suspended for a cause other than a physical or mental disability or impairment or a conviction under Section 49.04, Penal Code, may apply for an occupational license by filing a verified petition (approved by District Attorney's office) with the clerk of the county court or district court with jurisdiction in the county in which:
- (1) The person resides; or
- (2) The offense occurred for which the license was suspended. (note: felony offenses must go back to the convicting court and if a person's license has been automatically suspended based on a conviction must go to the convicting court)
- (b) A person may apply for an occupational license by filing a verified petition only with the clerk of the county court or district court in which the person was convicted if:
- (1) The person's license has been automatically suspended or canceled under this chapter for a conviction of an offense under the laws of this state; and
- (2) The person has not been issued, in the 10 years preceding the date of the filing of the petition, more than one occupational license after a conviction under the laws of this state.
- (c) A petition filed under this section must set forth in detail the person's essential need.
- (d) A petition filed under Subsection (b) must state that the petitioner was convicted in that court for an offense under the laws of this state.
- (e) The clerk of the court shall file the petition as in any other civil matter.
- (f) A court may not grant an occupational license for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle to which Chapter 522 applies.